Tops

Self-Drafted striped t-shirt

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 10.37.15 PM.pngAn old make, but one I have worn literally to death. This post is post-mortem, as the shirt’s stitching basically fell apart due to the fact that I don’t have a serger: sewing cheap knits on the bias without one is NOT recommended.  While I like the look of the stripes on the diagonal, I don’t love how gape-y the neckline is: I should have used stabilizer or clear elastic, but until I made my Sallie jumpsuits I’d had no experience using it.

It’s a simple pattern: two boxy rectangles with holes for sleeves, but the bias cut made it cling nicely in all the right places.  I’m excited to invest in a serger someday, but like all big purchasing decisions, I am agonizing over which one to get! Any suggestions are welcome. Leaning towards Janome because I know a dealer nearby, but have heard good things about Juki too.

Leave a Reply

